© National Client Protection Organization, Inc. 2016

All Rights Reserved

Isaac Hecht Award Recipients

2016 - Michael Harmon, AR

Michael Harmon has been instrumental in improving the Arkansas Fund, recently securing an ABA Consultation for the Arkansas Client Security program. Supporters noted that “There was a time when the Arkansas Fund was depleted (and) under Michael’s leadership, the Arkansas Client Security Fund increased its overall fund balance to an amount over one million dollars….Through his hard work, Michael has promoted the excellence of the Arkansas Committee and has ensured that it will remain a viable and crucial component of the Arkansas legal community.”

2015 - Kris Wenzel, WI

Kris Wenzel, liaison to the Wisconsin Client Security Fund since 1991 where she has engineered a number of structural corrections to Wisconsin’s court rules and Fund policies, permitting the Wisconsin Fund to increase its award cap three times. Kris tackled the problem of under-funding by petitioning the Wisconsin Supreme Court to eliminate a “sufficiency level” budget limitation on the Fund and by setting a permanent lawyer assessment.  Kris has also overseen the adoption of more client friendly fund policies and created a culture in and among her Trustees which encourages their attendance, participation and education at both ABA and NCPO forums and workshops. Perhaps most significantly, she has nurtured a mindset in which the Wisconsin Fund now seeks ways to assist clients rather than reasons to deny claims. When presented with the award, Kris noted, “The Fund is the reason I come to work every day!”

2014 - Alabama State Bar Client Security Fund Committee

The Alabama State Bar Client Security Fund Committee was honored with the 2014 Isaac Hecht Law Client Protection Award to recognize the success of a task force it created to study ways to improve their Fund. Because of the task force, significant changes were made to Fund rules for the first time in 30 years.

2013 - Karen O’Toole, MA

2007 - Kenneth J. Bossong, NJ

2008 - Thomas J. Moyer, OH

Chief Justice Moyer was the 2008 recipient of NCPO’s Isaac Hecht Award for Excellence in Client Protection for his unwavering support of adequate funding, loss prevention, and increased

maximums for Fund awards.

2009 - The Connecticut Bar Association

2010 - Richard c. Bosson and Charles J. Vigil, NM

2011 - Charles Goldberg, CO

2012 - Janet Green Marbley, OH

2017 - Eric A. Seiff, NY

2006 - William Ricker, MO

2005 - Frederick Miller, NY

2004 - Frank X. Neuner, Jr., LA